Colorado. California. Even the sometimes-conservative Midwestern state of Illinois now permits the recreational use of marijuana. Recreational marijuana is currently legal in 11 of the 50 United States–as long as you’re over the age of 21. Medicinal marijuana is legal in 33 states. North Carolina, however, is not one of these states.
Here is a breakdown of what could happen if you are found with possession of marijuana in the state of North Carolina:
If you are found with 0.5 ounces or less of marijuana on yourself, it is considered a misdemeanor, with a fine not to exceed $200. Possession of 0.5-1.5 ounces of marijuana is also considered a misdemeanor but includes the possibility of serving 1-45 days in jail and/or a fine of $1,000. In looking at possession of 1.5-10 ounces of marijuana in the state of North Carolina, you could face a felony, and potentially face 3-8 months of jail time, along with the possibility of a $1,000 fine.
With regard to marijuana distribution, the penalties come even harsher here in the state of North Carolina.
Ten pounds of marijuana or less with the intent to distribute is considered a felony, with the possibility of 4-8 months of jail time and/or a $1,000 fine. Distribution of 10 to 50 pounds of marijuana is considered a felony with the possibility of 25 to 39 months (roughly 2-3 years) in jail and/or $5,000 in fines. And if found with more than 10,000 pounds of marijuana with the intent to distribute, you’re looking at a felony charge, along with potentially serving 175 to 222 months (roughly 15-19 years) in jail, and/or a $200,000 fine.
If you or someone you know is facing legal charges related to marijuana, be sure to seek legal counsel to examine your best options in moving forward.