Have you been arrested and charged with a driving under the influence offense in North Carolina? If so, you are likely interested in learning how you may defend yourself against these charges. First, it is important to remember that an arrest does not mean you are convicted of a charge and you have the right to a defense.
After you were stopped but before you were arrested, you may have been asked to perform some tasks by the officer or officers involved. These are commonly called field sobriety tests but do not let the name fool you. These tests cannot prove or measure any intoxication or sobriety. Instead they are used to indicate that you might be drunk so as to support you being arrested per FieldSobrietyTests.org.
Of the three tests most often use and approved for use by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, none are completely accurate. The eye test is the most accurate with a rate of only 77 percent. The one-legged stand test has the lowest accuracy rate with a mere 65 percent – less than two-thirds. The rate of accuracy for the walk and turn test is not much better at only 68 percent. If an officer uses all of the tests, the combined accuracy rate is 82 percent.
If you would like to learn more about the types of tests used during a drunk driving arrest process and how accurate they may or may not be, please feel free to visit the field sobriety testing page of our North Carolina criminal law website.